top of page

Omicron Kappa Upsilon

National Dental Honor Society


      Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU) was established at Northwestern University Dental School in 1914.  The mission of OKU is “to encourage and develop a spirit of emulation among students in dentistry, and to recognize in an appropriate manner those who shall distinguish themselves by a high grade of scholarship.” Members are selected from among students who rank in the top 20% of the class during their senior year of dental school. It is the highest honor bestowed upon a member of the profession of dentistry. Membership may

also be extended to dental school faculty and professionals who

have made a significant contribution to the art and science of

dentistry. The Pi Pi chapter was established at Howard University

by charter on May 15, 1948,as a component of the National Dental

Honorary Society.



Members of OKU and recent inductees. You may reach the Secretary  of  Pi Pi chapter at














OKU Charter (1) (1).jpg
OKU_2023 (1).jpg

From the Howard University archives: On May 15, 1948, the Secretary of Omicron Kappa Upsilon announced that a charter had been granted to Howard University College of Dentistry and, with his congratulations, advised that the chapter members proceed at once to effect an organization. A meeting was held on May 18, at which lime, in accordance with the Constitution and By-Laws of the Supreme Chapter, officers for the newly created Pi Pi Chapter were elected as follows: Percy A. Fitzgerald, President; John A. Turner,

Vice-President; and Raymond L. Hayes, Secretary-Treasurer. The other charter members

were Russell A. Dixon, C. Carnot Evans, Emmett J. Scott, and Adolphus Walton.

     Installation of the chapter was held on June 2, 1948, on which occasion Dr. Erling Thoen,

Secretary-Treasurer of the Supreme Chapter, Omicron Kappa  Upsilon, presented

President Mordecai W. Johnson with the charter for Pi Pi Chapter and also presented each

member with his key. The following members of the June 1948 graduating class were the

first Howard University students to be elected to the Society: Harold L. Applewhite,

Grace E. Byrd, Donald C. Fitzroy, and Herman F. Stamps. Other alumni members elected at

this time were Benjamin Day Boyd, Roland O. Groomes, Herman E. Gaskins, Joseph L. Henry,

John A. Jackson, Richard K, Otagaki, and Robert H. Thompson, Sr. The honorary member

chosen was Robert M. Hendrick, Sr.

OKU 1st Inductees (1).png


This is a Paragraph. Click on "Edit Text" or double click on the text box to start editing the content and make sure to add any relevant details or information that you want to share with your visitors.

bottom of page