top of page

Omicron Kappa Upsilon National Dental Honor Society
Pi Pi Chapter

OKU_2023 (1).jpg
Untitled (14 × 24 in) (9).png
2024 Induction
Past Induction Classes

Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU) began with the class of 1914 at Northwestern University Dental School.  A group of students were “desirous of organizing and funding a national honorary fraternity similar to other honorary fraternities now existing in the leading universities…but which shall consist of dental students exclusively.  Invitation only to the D4 students in the top 20% of the graduating class.  Membership is based upon scholarship and character as manifested by election by the faculty. There is a chapter of OKU in almost all U.S. dental schools.

The Pi Pi chapter of OKU was chartered on May 15, 1948, at Howard University College of Dentistry. 

A meeting was held on May 18, at which lime, in accordance with the Constitution and By-Laws of the Supreme Chapter, officers for the newly created Pi Pi Chapter were elected as follows: Percy A. Fitzgerald, President; John A. Turner, Vice-President; and Ray- mond L. Hayes, Secretary-Treasurer.


The other charter members were Russell A. Dixon, C. Carnot Evans, Emmett J. Scott, and Adolphus Walton. Installation of the chapter was held on June 2, 1948, on which occasion Dr. Erling Thoen, Secretary-Treasurer of the Supreme Chapter, Omicron Kappa Upsilon, located at the University of Iowa, presented President Mordecai W. Johnson with the charter for Pi Pi Chapter, and also presented each member with his key. The following members of the June 1948 graduating class were the first Howard University students to be elected to the Society: Harold L. Apple- white, Grace E. Byrd, Donald C. Fitzroy, and Herman F. Stamps. Other alumni members elected at this time were Benjamin Day Boyd, Roland O. Groomes, Herman E. Gaskins, Joseph L. Henry, John A. Jackson, Richard K, Otagaki, and Robert H. Thompson, Sr. The honorary member chosen was Robert M. Hendrick, Sr.

OKU Charter (1) (1).jpg
OKU 1st Inductees (1).png
Blue Modern Business Conference Digital Poster Potrait.png

For 75 years, the Pi Pi chapter has continued to uphold OKU's mission.  Talented, socially aware, academically inclined, and service-oriented students in the graduating are recognized during the annual induction convocation.  Top students in the D-, D2, and D3 classes are also recognized with gold academic lapel pins. Pi Pi chapter also provides monetary awards to D3 students for exceptional performance in scholarship and character (Kramer Award), scholarship, humanitarianism, and spirit of collaboration (Jeter Award), and finally, academic achievement and leadership (Fauchard Award).  The Dr. Raymon Hayes Lecture Series is held bi-annually to provide members, dental professionals, and students with continuing education opportunities.

OKU Officers 2023.JPG

2023-2025 Officers- Pi Pi Chapter (L to R): Dr. Reginald Salter, President-Elect; Dr. Crystal McIntosh, Awards Chair; Dr. Craig Butler, Vice President; Dr. LaToya Barham, President; Dr. Brianna Mcrae, Secretary-Treasurer; Dr. Marianne Siewe, Immediate Past President.

bottom of page